How To Block Friends In Facebook

By
Tue, 11 Sep 2018

Facebook can be a great way to stay connected with friends and family. But not every interaction on the website is positive. If people start to harass you with mean comments or spam you with messages, you might want to cut off their access to your account. In this guide, we show you how to block people on Facebook. This video was made with Ezvid Wikimaker.

The Easiest Way to Block a Facebook User

  1. Click on the Question Mark Icon at the Top of the Page
  2. Click on "Privacy Shortcuts"
  3. Select the option "How do I stop someone from bothering me?"
  4. Enter the name of the person you want to block
  5. Click the "Block" button

Other Methods for Blocking Facebook Friends

  • Go to the Manage Blocking section of the Facebook settings and enter the person's name in the "Block users" box
  • Go to a person's profile, click the button with three dots on their cover photo, and click block

Blocking vs Unfriending

Blocking Unfriending
Can be undone
No notification
Prevents the person from messaging you
Hides your profile from them

The Problem With Cyberbullying

While there are a lot of reasons to want to block someone on Facebook, cyberbullying is often a factor. People aren't always on their best behavior on the Internet, especially children and teenagers who are still learning about empathy. If someone is giving you or your child a hard time online, there are a variety of ways you can deal with the issue. There are a number of cyberbullying prevention apps that can help solve the problem before it starts. If there's a particular person to blame, you can block them. Or, if you just want to avoid social media altogether, you can always delete your account.

How to Prevent Cyberbullying

Conclusion

Deciding whether or not to block a problematic person can be difficult. But if someone's negativity is causing you stress, then cutting them off can help you regain your peace of mind. If you want to give them a second chance later on, you can always unblock them.

In Depth

Facebook can be a helpful tool, if used correctly. It is an easy way to connect with friends, exchange ideas, share pictures and videos, and so much more. These features are what make the site so appealing to its millions of users.

Just like any other form of technology, Facebook can be abused in many ways. If you use the site regularly, you might have encountered annoying people who are extremely rude or downright threatening. They could be friends who got mad at you after a heated argument, or complete strangers who blow up your messages with spam or hateful comments.

Sometimes, you can end these conflicts by simply reasoning with the other person, or asking them to stop. But if they continue to harass you, you might have no choice but to cut them off completely. At this point, it's a good idea to block them. This means that they will no longer be able to view your profile, send you messages, tag you in pictures, or see your posts. If you block a friend, you will also automatically unfriend and unfollow them.

At this point, it's a good idea to block them.

Think carefully before you block a friend. A single click on the block button can completely destroy a friendship that might be worth saving. If you do decide to block them, follow these steps.

#1. Open Facebook and log in. At the top right corner of the page, you can see a small question mark icon. Click on it and choose Privacy Shortcuts. This will take you to the site's policies against harassment.

#2. Select the option "How do I stop someone from bothering me?". After that, you need to type in the name of the person that you want to block. Once you're done, click Block.

After that, you need to type in the name of the person that you want to block.

#3. Once you've gotten this far, Facebook will make sure that you are blocking the right person. It will bring up a list of users with the same name as the person you are trying to block. Look at the pictures carefully, select the right person, and hit the Block button again.

#4. If you can't find the person through this method, there is another way to block them. Look for a message they sent you, or a post or comment they made on your page. From there, click on their name. This will take you to their profile page. Click the menu icon on their cover photo and select Block.

The person that you prevented from accessing your account will not be notified after you block them, so don't worry about their reaction. It's possible that they won't even notice. If they check your profile, it will look like your account is no longer active. They'll probably think that you have completely deleted your account. If you block someone during the heat of an argument, but later patch things up, you can let them back into your social media life by going to your settings and clicking Unblock.

They'll probably think that you have completely deleted your account.

Blocking a person in Facebook is necessary sometimes, especially when you're getting negative posts and messages that are causing you a lot of stress. It's not always an easy decision, but in the end, cutting out a toxic person can help you regain your peace of mind.