How To Deactivate or Delete Facebook

There are many reasons people join Facebook. People want to connect with old friends, share photos, or vent about their personal lives. But the site isn't for everyone. If you're worried about your privacy, overwhelmed by your news feed, or just ready to move on to Instagram, it might be time for you to leave Facebook behind. This video was made with Ezvid Wikimaker.

Deleting vs Deactivating Facebook

Deleting Deactivating
Permanent
Effective Immediately
Sent Messages Deleted
Profile Can't Be Viewed

Why Quit Facebook?

How Do I Deactivate My Facebook Account?

  1. Open the account menu
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Go to your General Settings
  4. Select "Manage Account"
  5. Click the link labeled "Deactivate your account"

What Should I Do Before Deleting My Account?

Permanently deleting a Facebook account can be a big deal, especially if you've had it for a long time. So there are a few things you should do before you pass the point of no return:

  • Think about it. Make sure you're not going to change your mind next week.
  • Tell your friends. Let them know when and why you'll be leaving.
  • Download a copy of your data. That way you can privately hang onto all of your posts and photos

Conclusion

Stepping away from a website like Facebook can be difficult to do. Social media addiction is a real problem in the digital age. And the allure of taking quizzes and getting "likes" keeps many people glued to their screens. But if you have the strength to step away from the constant stream of notifications, you might just find yourself enjoying life more. And it all starts with deleting a single account.

In Depth

Ever since Facebook was created people have been signing up for it and then promptly deleting their accounts. The pressure to stay active with any social media platform can certainly take a toll on your mental health, causing some Facebook members to feel socially isolated and emotionally exhausted. So if you are feeling dragged down by the newsfeed full of opinions, politics, baby photos and memes, and need a vacation back to reality, here are a few ways to delete your account on your laptop and phone.

The first thing you should know is that there are two ways to step back from Facebook: deactivating your account and deleting your account.

The difference between deactivation and deletion is that a deactivated Facebook account may still be reactivated at any time, by simply logging into your Facebook account once more. A deleted account is much more permanent, and it may take up to 90 days for your entire account to be completely cleared. One thing to note is that, if you would still like to keep any of the photos or notes that you have posted on your account, it is possible to download a copy of all your data on Facebook.

One thing to note is that, if you would still like to keep any of the photos or notes that you have posted on your account, it is possible to download a copy of all your data on Facebook.

It is also important to understand that any messages that you have sent are not stored on your account, and will remain accessible to the message receivers even after deleting your Facebook account.

If you are attempting to deactivate your Facebook account on a laptop or a phone it is very simple.

First, Click the small downward facing arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook homepage. In the drop-down menu click the Settings tab. It will automatically open up to the General tab under Settings, then click the blue Edit link to the right of Manage Account. Click the link to Deactivate your account, you will be prompted to reenter your password, follow all the steps and your account will be deactivated.

First, Click the small downward facing arrow in the top right corner of your Facebook homepage.

If you are attempting to Deactivate your account on your phone first open the app then open the menu in the bottom right-hand corner. Scroll down to Settings, tap Account Settings and follow the same instructions as above.

If you would like to download a copy of your Facebook data before you delete your account, open your Facebook settings. Underneath "Manage Account," click the blue hyperlink "download a copy." Follow the prompts and you will have a complete record of your Facebook photos, posts, and messages.

Afterwards, you may follow the link facebook.com/help/delete_account and request your account to be permanently deleted. Your account will be deleted within ninety days.